









Governing Elite Hockey for Hockey Calgary

2023 – 2024 Elite Council Awards Process

- 1. The U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA and U21 B **League Champions** shall be determined by individual stats as posted on the Hockey Calgary website.
- 2. The U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA and U21 B **City Champions** and **City Finalist** shall be determined by each league's playoff championship.
- 3. Each team in the U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, and U18 AA league shall nominate a Best Defenseman. League Governors will ask coaches to nominate a player from their team. The Governor will summarize the list of nominees and then send that list back to the coaches to vote on. The nominee with the most votes will be declared the winner. In the case of a tie the Governor will request that the coaches vote again on the tied nominees, the nominee with the most votes will be declared the winner. Coaches will not vote for their own nominees.
- 4. Each team in the U21 B league shall nominate a Best Defenseman, Most Dedicated, MVP, and Rookie of the Year. League Governors will ask coaches to nominate a player from their team in each category. The Governor will summarize the list of nominees and then send that list back to the coaches for voting. The nominee with the most votes in each category will be declared the winner. In the case of a tie the Governor will request that the coaches vote again on the tied nominees. The nominee with the most votes will be declared the winner. Coaches will not vote for their own nominees.
- 5. The U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA and U21 B Best Goaltending Tandems will be determined by GAA during **regular season play**. The team with the two goalies that have the lowest goals against average will be declared the winner. Affiliate goalie stats will not be utilized in the calculation. Stats as posted on the Hockey Calgary Website will be used in the calculation.
- 6. The U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA and U21 B Scoring Champions will be determined by the most overall points during **regular season play** as taken from the stats on the Hockey Calgary website.
- 7. The U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA, and U21 B Most Sportsmanlike Player will be determined by the least amount of penalty minutes vs. games played during the regular season. Winners will be determined by those who played the most games with the least amount of penalty minutes. Stats will be taken from the Hockey Calgary Website. In the case of a tie the Governor will send the names of the tied players to the coaches for a vote. The player with the most votes will be declared the winner. Coaches will not vote for a player from their own team.
- 8. For each division (U13 AA, U15 AA, U16 AA, U18 AA and U21 B) each of the four (4) associations shall nominate a Coach of the Year. Selections will be reviewed, and the winner selected by a committee comprised of the associated league Governor, along with the Chair, Elite Council, and The Executive Director of Hockey Calgary or their designates.
- 9. The awards process shall be administered by the respective league Governor.